PDA

View Full Version : Please help a 1st time hunter in Bakersfield

Saleen_Cobra
10-31-2007, 10:49 PM
Id like to go hunting, its one of the few shooting sports I havnt done. I guess the first place to go is a hunters safety course. Where would you recomend I go, and where to from there?

I really know next to nothing about hunting. Im new to Bakersfield, and I love the outdoors, I love shooting, and I love meat, so I think a hunting trip is a good idea.

Any advice would be appreciated.

ko1featherweigh
10-31-2007, 10:59 PM
i am in the exact situation as you. I'm planning to take the safety course soon, then try hunting here is a list of where you can go to take the course
http://www.dfg.ca.gov/huntered/classes.aspx

Danield
11-01-2007, 8:26 AM
i've never gone hunting either, but i would love to give it a "shot". i dont even know where to start though, anyone near san bernardino county that hunts and would be willing to help out?

Das Dude
11-01-2007, 1:40 PM
I guys, I have been a deer hunter for a long time, and you may not care for
my recomendations, but here goes: Is it for deer or which bird or other
mammal?

If its for deer, its kinda late for California now, especially with no safety
course completed at this point. So if you move quickly, check out hunting
in the Mid West states, its great, success far better than California etc.

In the Southern states, seasons run thru Jan in some of them. Some have 1
per day take rates, Alabama etc.

I and some friends are heading out for Pine Ridge Unit in NW Nebraska on the
6th nov for a season that begins the 17th, goes thru the 25th. Awesome
kill success there. Was there 2000 & 2001, our party did well.

I used to hunt east of Delano-Bakersfield years ago, 1950s, up by Lake
Isabella, no clue how it is there these days. It was HOT, dusty and dry.

California overall for deer is on the low success side of the scale. License
sales are declining for several years now, for those of you on the board who