PDA

View Full Version : Another 1911 Question

What Just Happened?
10-15-2007, 9:39 AM
I know, its another 1911 / O-frame question and I'm sure you're sick of hearing them. I'm a grad student who works more hours than he really should, meaning there's a bit of money left over even after rent, food, tuition, and ammo (priorities in that order). I currently have a Sig Mosquito, CZ-P01, and a S&W model 10. You'll notice that the caliber has slowly been moving upwards. I've been meaning to purchase a 1911 and with AB1471 just passing, I've decided that one will be purchased very shortly. This past weekend I went to my local range (the Huntington Beach Firing Line) and tried the only 1911 they have, a Kimber Custom II. I like the size of it, its recoil, and I think that I shot fairly well with it for my first .45 ever.

I've been looking around and think that I've settled on a Springfield Mil-Spec for its reliability / warranty, reputation, specs, and cost. But one thing that bothers me is that I could not reach the slide release on the Kimber II that I shot. I can barely reach the slide release on my CZ P-01 (I knick it with the tip of my thumb) and anyone can reach the release on a Sig (kinda spoiled me as it was my first handgun).

Now for the question. Are extended slide releases pretty much non-standard on entry level 1911's? If not, which would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

Black Majik
10-15-2007, 9:52 AM
Now for the question. Are extended slide releases pretty much non-standard on entry level 1911's? If not, which would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.