PDA

View Full Version : Do Pistols Just Have "Bad Days???

RAMCHARGER
10-15-2007, 9:33 AM
No really. I have taken my Sig P6 to da indoor range by my house and it's usally shot lazer gun accurate. But this weekend I picked up a few hundred rounds of the "usual" Wally mart 100 packs of 9mm and I sucked!
I use those little "shoot n see" stickers and they are about 2" or 3" in diameter and will usually leave one ragged thumb sized hole with the usual oops cuz of flinch from someone shooting a cannon on the lane next to me at the same time I let off one.

But yesterday it was like I was a rookie shootin someone elses gun.
Some would shoot POA perfectly but then most shot left or low. I had 3 ragged holes. One dead center. One an inch left and one an inch below???
AT 25 feet.

Was it the ammo maybe?

jmancini
10-15-2007, 9:34 AM
It's possible the ammo was off in some way, but I think you're a lot more likely to have an off day than the pistol is.

Always blame the hardware. :gunsmilie:

What Just Happened?
10-15-2007, 9:53 AM
I hope that a firearm doesn't have a bad day. I believe that would indicate that the parts somehow changed from their original dimensions or orientation. And that's not good.

I'm sorry to say, either the ammo was inconsistent or you were having an 'off day'. Cuz' I really hope your gun's not breaking.

AJAX22
10-15-2007, 10:07 AM
Probably not on a sig

some REALLY tight match grade semi autos can be thermally sensitive and can lock up when it gets really cold.

But its more likely to be the nut behind the wheel than the gun itself.

RAMCHARGER
10-15-2007, 10:23 AM
Maybe wife is sneakin' in decaf??? :)

WolfMansDad
10-15-2007, 12:40 PM
Guns do sometimes get upset with their owners. Did you drink too much the night before taking her to the range? Did she not have your full attention on "her" range day, because your mind was on some problem at work or with your girl?

Guns can get jealous, you know.

:p

bwiese
10-15-2007, 1:08 PM