PDA

View Full Version : Front sling mount for AR15 with Hogue knurled freefloat handguard


LTC-J
03-04-2013, 8:35 PM
Title mostly states it.

Here is a picture of the handguard:
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=211191&stc=1&d=1362457967

The lower sports an A2 style stock with integrated sling mount.

What are my options for a sling mount up front?

The rifle will eventually end up as a hunting gun.

I believe I could drill into the handguard for a sling mount. My concern is that if I replace the barrel, I will not be able to get the sling mount at the bottom again.

bill_k_lopez
03-04-2013, 8:46 PM
http://www.stagarms.com/images/stag_arms_6big.gif

You drill the FFTube. Don't know why you'd have to change it if you changed barrels??

Riceball
03-04-2013, 8:53 PM
Another option are the sling mounts that basically wrap around your rifle, I don't know what they're called but I know that I've seen them.

Don the savage
03-04-2013, 9:07 PM
Maybe this?
http://www.redstatetactical.com/BFG-Universal-Wire-Loop-Sling-Attachment-Point_p_80.html

Riceball
03-04-2013, 9:40 PM
This is what I was thinking of, the Voodoo Tactical 3 point sling or something like it.

http://www.surplusplanet360.com/3-Point-Rifle-Sling-Voodoo-Tactical-20-9246.html#

It wraps around the fore end and the stock so you don't need any sling attachments.

There's also this one which looks like it hooks in to the sling attachment on the buttstock but then wraps around the fore end.

http://www.opticsplanet.com/command-arms-accessories-3-point-rifle-sling.html

LTC-J
03-05-2013, 6:33 AM
You drill the FFTube. Don't know why you'd have to change it if you changed barrels??

I'd be 90% certain that if I change barrels, the barrel nut will not sit in the same exact rotation as previous. This means the hole drilled in the FF Tube will not end up at the same location and will creep up 5-10 degrees one side or the other.

ar15barrels
03-05-2013, 10:03 AM
I believe I could drill into the handguard for a sling mount.
My concern is that if I replace the barrel, I will not be able to get the sling mount at the bottom again.

Both of these are correct.
If you drill it, put a steel nut on the inside ofmthentube as the aluminum tends to strip out as it is pretty thin.

Mrbasslips
03-05-2013, 10:22 AM
I use this and it works great. And no drilling required
http://www.israeli-weapons.com/store/rifle_slings/p9.htm

LTC-J
03-05-2013, 5:29 PM
I use this and it works great. And no drilling required
http://www.israeli-weapons.com/store/rifle_slings/p9.htm

That looks perfect.

I knew there was a reason to ask dumb sounding questions here :)