PDA

View Full Version : Changing gas block on a Stag upper


Bassxhead
10-10-2007, 1:12 PM
So i want to get a flip up front sight and ive narrowed my choice down to the Yankee Hill gas block/front sight and the PRI gas block/front sight. My main question is how hard is it to remove the Flash Hider on the Stag barrel? Does it just screw on or is it permanently attached? If i can't get it off then i will get the YHM sight since it clamps on and just cut off the old sight. Thanks

Yankee Hill Manufacturing
http://yankeehill.bizland.com/store/media/yhm-9394.jpg
PRI
http://www.mountsplus.com/miva/graphics/00000001/PRI-FUP-001.gif

SuperSet
10-10-2007, 1:21 PM
What length is your barrel? If it's 16" or longer, the flash hider/muzzle brake can be removed by turning it counter-clockwise. The fixed sight is usually held by tapered pins. If it's 14.5" with a permanently-fixed flash hider, it's harder and should be removed by a gunsmith.
There's a thread on here somewhere with instructions on replacing your gas block. Give the Search feature a peek.

Bassxhead
10-10-2007, 1:24 PM
I have the Stag 2HT Upper with a 16" barrel i dont know if that means 16 with the hider.
http://www.stagarms.com/cart/images/2ht.gif

Josh3239
10-10-2007, 3:03 PM
The Stag 2HT I think is a 16inch barrel with a flash hider. Heat up the flash hider to defeat the loctite and turn. You need a punch, a hammer, and a couple of good hits and the pins should come out. Its all pretty easy from there.

m24armorer
10-10-2007, 5:49 PM
I've never found Loctite on their hiders. Note that the FSB uses standard pins, not tapered. Go with the PRI.

SuperSet
10-10-2007, 6:06 PM
Go here and look at the link under Changing your AR15 barrel for dummies:

http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=4&t=226782

Bassxhead
10-10-2007, 7:05 PM
Awesome, ya i saw those instructions, just wanted to make sure about the flash hider. Should i Loctite it when i put it back on?

Bassxhead
10-10-2007, 7:54 PM
Note that the FSB uses standard pins, not tapered. Go with the PRI.
Are you sure about this? would i be able to use this sight?
http://gggaz.com/index.php?id=39&parents=38,41
or would I have to get this one? http://gggaz.com/index.php?id=40&parents=38,41

chuck762
10-11-2007, 3:08 AM
Are you sure about this? would i be able to use this sight?
http://gggaz.com/index.php?id=39&parents=38,41
or would I have to get this one? http://gggaz.com/index.php?id=40&parents=38,41

If you are going to do it yourself you need the clamp on model. The pin on model requires you send the barrel out for the work since no 2 front sight towers have the pins in the same place and it will require a gunsmith to install it.

Sig357
10-11-2007, 5:29 PM
Nevermind....misread....

m24armorer
10-12-2007, 10:14 PM
Use the PRI, way nicer and is easier to install. If you like, send it up and I will install and index your PRI and hider. 10 bucks and I keep your old stuff (FSB).