PDA

View Full Version : 30.06 question


calbyker69
03-03-2013, 8:55 AM
Bore-sighted 4 rifles and went to the range yesterday to dial them in. 3 were real close at 100 yrds and took 4-5 shots to center. Savage 111 in 30.06 with Bushnell 4-12x40 had problems. Could not get it on paper at all at 100yds so we came in to 50yds. Finally get it on spot at 50yds and move back to 100yds. Now its 10in high. Any ideas what was going on? Doesn't make sense to have such an extream difference in 50 yds.

GeeDog
03-03-2013, 9:23 AM
All I can think of is to check the crown for damage. Short of that, I don't know.

Jeff L
03-03-2013, 9:29 AM
All the ammo the same brand, batch?

calbyker69
03-03-2013, 11:09 AM
Ammo was all the same, went thru 2 boxes of 20. Rifle and scope bought new in Oct. and been out 3 times with less then 90 rnds total thru it. Shot fine the 1st time out, about 60 rnds. 2nd time, wife couldn't get comfortable so I changed the scope mounts which brought us to yesterday.

Bowhunter_619
03-03-2013, 1:09 PM
Its the scope; those bushnell scopes that came with the 111 non accutrigger package were crap. I had a similiar issue with mine a while back.

calbyker69
03-04-2013, 6:52 AM
Thanks Bowhunter. Thats what I was suspecting. It wasn't really a "package", but Cabala's made her a "deal" on the scope when she bought the rifle. Probably was the same as the package.

wpage
03-04-2013, 7:24 AM
Agreed, quite a recoil on the 06 jolting off the scope. Check on the mounts for tightness as well when swapping out.

pdq_wizzard
03-04-2013, 7:33 AM
Agreed, quite a recoil on the 06 jolting off the scope. Check on the mounts for tightness as well when swapping out.

Also check the stock to receiver it could be lose

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using Tapatalk 2

svthuh
03-04-2013, 12:57 PM
Ammo was all the same, went thru 2 boxes of 20. Rifle and scope bought new in Oct. and been out 3 times with less then 90 rnds total thru it. Shot fine the 1st time out, about 60 rnds. 2nd time, wife couldn't get comfortable so I changed the scope mounts which brought us to yesterday.
If you changed the scope mounts, I would start there. Swap them back and see what happens.

What did you swap from-to?

brian_landan
03-04-2013, 1:06 PM
Hello,
Did you solve your problem?
If not, I would say it may be the scope. You should look into a Nikon or a Leupold.
once bore siting is done, it should only take you 10-15 rounds to drop into bullseye at 100 yards with the 111.

calbyker69
03-04-2013, 1:48 PM
Took the P-223 mounts off my AR. The .06 is the wifes and she is small, so trying to get the scope moved back so she can see thru it.. The issue started before the change. It does stay on target once sighted in. Seems odd that there would be a 10 inch difference between 50 and 100 yds. Am now going to cut 2 inch off the stock.