PDA

View Full Version : Any links to Nevada gun laws?


Glock22Fan
10-05-2007, 9:18 AM
As all of the links that I get when searching the Nevada AG site for firearms information no longer work (perhaps because the law has changed so much lately) and PDO is now disfunctional, does anyone have any links to official information on the Nevada gun laws?

I'm thinking of: If I use my Utah permit in Nevada, what do I have to be careful of? Can I carry in a hotel in a Las Vegas casino? What about the casinos themselves? What about places that serve alcohol? Personally, I don't like Las Vegas and never gamble there, but my company keeps having meetings there and one is forced to walk through casino and bar areas to get where you have to be.

Please let us leave discussion of whether or not Nevada recognizes non-resident Utah permits (or whether Clark County requires registration for firearms of visitors staying less than 60 days) out of this thread; there is another thread that deals with all that. I'm also hoping to get facts, rather than guesses please.

Thanks

Smokeybehr
10-05-2007, 9:40 AM
http://carryconcealed.net/legal/nevada-ccw-state-laws.php

http://www.handgunlaw.us/documents/StateLaws.pdf

http://www.handgunlaw.us/documents/USOffLimitsN-W.pdf

http://www.nsrpa.us/legal/nevlocal.html

And the best of them all...
http://www.lvmpd.com/permits/firearms_concealed.html

glockman19
10-05-2007, 9:51 AM
I'm thinking of: If I use my Utah permit in Nevada, what do I have to be careful of?
Clark County Requires Registration at a local PD.
Can I carry in a hotel in a Las Vegas casino?
YES but it's private property and they can ask you to leave if they find you carrying.
What about the casinos themselves?
YES but it's private property and they can ask you to leave if they find you carrying.
What about places that serve alcohol?
NO Bars. If 50% or more serving. Just keep it concealed
Personally, I don't like Las Vegas and never gamble there, but my company keeps having meetings there and one is forced to walk through casino and bar areas to get where you have to be.
You should have no problems. Just don't forget to register your guns get a "Blue Card".

Glock22Fan
10-05-2007, 10:01 AM
Clark County Requires Registration at a local PD.

I thought this was now only for stays beyond 60 days? as per last post on:
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=70176&page=9

Thanks for the other information, which confirms what I thought was the case.

And, thanks, SmokeyBehr for the links.

glockman19
10-05-2007, 10:36 AM
http://www.lvmpd.com/permits/firearms_concealed.html

Permits

Concealed Firearm Permits are valid for a 5 year period ( three years for out of state residents) and can be renewed for additional 5 year periods ( three years for out of state residents). Applicants must be fingerprinted and investigated. All firearms to be listed on the permit must be registered with the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department.

A permit holder must carry the permit together with the gun registration card (Blue card) and proper identification whenever they are in actual possession of the concealed firearm(s). The permit, blue card, and proper identification must be presented to a peace officer when requested. Failure to produce the permit, blue card, and proper identification at an officer's request carry a civil penalty of $25.00.

Carrying a concealed firearm without a permit is punishable by a category C felony.

Prohibited Locations

A permit holder must NOT carry a concealed firearm into:
Any facility of a law enforcement agency.
A prison, city or county jail, or detention facility.
A courthouse or courtroom.
A public airport and/or a public building that is located on the property of a public airport.
A public building that has a metal detector at each public entrance.
A public building that has a sign posted at each public entrance indicating that no firearms are allowed in the building.
Any facility of a public or private school without written permission.
Any facility of a vocational/technical school, or the University of Nevada, or Community College System without written permission.
Any other building owned or occupied by the Federal Government, the state, or local government.
Any other place where carrying a concealed firearm is prohibited by state or federal law.
The above provisions do not apply to a judge in the courthouse or courtroom he presides or employees with his authorization. They are also not applicable to the employee's of the above facilities. Violation of this section is a misdemeanor.

RAD-CDPII
10-05-2007, 11:32 AM
I thought this was now only for stays beyond 60 days? as per last post on:
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=70176&page=9

Thanks for the other information, which confirms what I thought was the case.

And, thanks, SmokeyBehr for the links.

Clark Co. requires registration of guns prior to obtaining a permit there. If you have a permit from another county, they do not require you to register it when coming to Vegas on a visit. Now that they recognize UT CCW's, it should be no different.

glockman19
10-05-2007, 11:59 AM
I called and it was suggested to still get a "Blue Card"

RAD-CDPII
10-05-2007, 12:30 PM
I called and it was suggested to still get a "Blue Card"

Gotta love that word "suggested" not required. The state sets the law for NV, but they are not as gun friendly in Vegas as the rest of the state. They did get some sort of grandfather clause that allows them to require registration prior to getting it put on your permit there though. The rest of the state just requires a qualification certificate and they put the make, model and cal on the back of your license. If you move to Clark Co. though, you are required to get them registered.

With the recent change allowing UT CCW, I wonder about the qualification now. I have both, and UT does not require qualification. I have a couple of new ones that are not on my NV permit that I was going to have to make a trip to Reno for. I'm going to have to check on that one.

SemiAutoSam
10-05-2007, 12:43 PM
Nevada law is not called the Penal code like our law here.

Its called NRS or Nevada Revised Statutes.

this will hopefully aid in your search for Nevada law.

Quiet
10-05-2007, 1:46 PM
The "blue card" registeration changed in Clark County. Goes into effect on 01-01-2008.
Non-residents of Clark County have to register their handguns with LVMPD if they are staying more than 60 days in Clark County. Residents of Clark County have 72 hours to register with LVMPD.

So, from now until 01-01-2008. The old "blue card" registeration is still in effect.
24 hours to register when entering Clark County.

NRS 202.257
You can carry concealed in places that serve alcohol.
You can also legally drink while carrying concealed.
Your BAC needs to be less than 0.10 to be legal.
:Pirate: