PDA

View Full Version : Fixed vs. variable power on precision rifle?

vikingshelmut
10-03-2007, 6:33 AM
I'm tinkering with buying a 700p or 10fp for some long range fun. I see a lot of scope recommendations, but the one that keeps catching my eye, mostly based on the price, is the super sniper series. I noticed that all of these scopes seem to be fixed power scopes (10x, 16x, etc). What is the benefit of using a fixed power scope on a gun intended to be shot at various long ranges (not super long, but up to 4-500 yards)? I am pretty new to optics, but I'd have thought that a variable scope would be better suited for precision rifles.

goldy1
10-03-2007, 7:30 AM
well, if you want to go with a fixed power, the weaver 36x is supposed to be really good. for the variable side leaupold is always a good choice. honestly i dont know too much about the ss scope other than what i've heard, which is about what you already know. i know i'm going to get flamed for this, but i use a bsa platnium 8-32x mil-dot and have had nothing but good results personally. at 300yds i can see the holes in the target.

SemiAutoSam
10-03-2007, 7:39 AM
Think about it like this:

If what your shooting is always at a specific distance like the paper target at the range then a fixed scope could work fine for you.

But on the other hand if your into hunting or even want to know how to engage a target at different distances then a variable scope would most likely be the right thing for you.

DO some reading on scopes maybe check out a book from your non liberal library ?

Scarecrow Repair
10-03-2007, 8:12 AM
A variable power scope has to be more complex than a fixed power, both in adding mechanicals and in needing fancier optics to handle the varying magnification. Thus for a given price you will get a better fixed power scope than variable power.