PDA

View Full Version : .223 vs Deer

ViPER395
09-30-2007, 7:45 AM
Let me lay the debate to rest, or get one started.

I don't want to hear about how .223 Remy cannot take out Sierra sized deer... It's all about picking your shots wisely, people.

Either way, keep the awes and praise civil, and the envy to a minimum. :p

CSACANNONEER
09-30-2007, 8:27 AM
Plenty of deer have been taken with one shot from a 22lr (I plead the 5th). Yes, it's about shot placement. On the otherhand, it's also about making sure that with an not so perfect shot, you still take your animal with you instead of leaving it wounded and running around in the woods to suffer and die at a later date.

CavTrooper
09-30-2007, 9:09 AM
with a mini-14 no the less!? You were really threading the needle with that one! Id say luck was on your side! LOL!
Nice deer, good job.

hybridatsun350
09-30-2007, 9:22 AM
Impressive! What was the range? Just wondering.

ViPER395
09-30-2007, 9:32 AM
I'm not really good at estimating without pacing. I'd say 70-80yds or so.

Oh and my '14 has been shortened, target-crowned, and threaded with a Smith brake. It shoots alot better and consistent than many Mini-14s out there.

Fjold
09-30-2007, 9:36 AM
Very nice buck and good hunting to get within 70-80 yards for the shot.

Oh and my '14 has been shortened, target-crowned, and threaded with a Smith brake. It shoots alot better and consistent than many Mini-14s out there.

But, that's like saying my Yugo is faster and more reliable than many Yugos out there!

ViPER395
09-30-2007, 9:42 AM
Mini-14s are way more reliable than a Yugo. In fact, I haven't seen one in years!?

& good hunting was not really it. More like I happened to be on the right trail in the right clearcut at the right time of morning. :cool: I can't take credit for nice bucks walking into the open near my position.

Nonetheless.. Thank you all for your compliments!

neomentat
09-30-2007, 10:28 AM