PDA

View Full Version : Where to shoot in the Santa Cruz area? (non-range)

Salty
09-29-2007, 7:47 AM
Hey, I'm kind of new to the sport and was wondering if anyone knew of any decent non-formal locations around Santa Cruz. I'd like to be able to incorporate some hiking with a little plinking. I've heard that there might be a few places up Bonny Dune road.

Also, I'm pretty new to the sport and was wondering what the cops tend to be like around here when it comes to firearms. Not that I plan to clean my guns on the front lawn or anything, just wondering what to expect if a ranger runs across me in the woods or if I get pulled over on my way to the range.

Thanks!

marksbb
09-29-2007, 10:26 AM
I'm pretty sure there isn't a place you can shoot anywere within the Santa Cruz Range. It's either private property, state property or open space preserve property.

Since you're from the Monerey area, Los Padres Nat'l Forest is probably the closest place to you.

In general, it is legal to shoot on national forest property, blm property or your own property only.

SchooBaka
09-29-2007, 11:17 AM
There used to be a few places like that in Bonny Doon, but they've all been closed off for years now. I don't know of anywhere other than private property you can go without haveing the police called on you.

Santa Cruz Armory
09-29-2007, 11:59 AM
Join the Scott's Valley Sportsmans Club. It's a nice private range in Scotts Valley.

There aren't (that I know of) any places left to shoot in this area. Hell, we used to sight our rifles and shoot pistols at my parents property in Scotts Valley city limits... of course now thats a big no no! :(

There is going to be a shoot at Panoche coming up on the 21st of October it's a bit of a drive (about two hours from Ben Lomond) but it's well worth it. Ya get to meet a bunch of cool Calgunners and shoot out to fairly long distances and the scenery isn't too bad either.

Let me know if you need info on the SV range.

Link to Panoche shoot thread: