PDA

View Full Version : The Guillory Case Law Applies to Hawaii!

Paladin
09-20-2007, 7:54 PM
With all the recent talk about Team Billy Jack using the Guillory federal case law to haul the Santa Maria CoP and/or city council into federal court (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=69602), I thought I'd point out the obvious: the 9th Circuit's holding in Guillory also applies to another "Last Holdout" state: Hawaii! That state is "May Issue" de jure, but "No Issue" de facto -- it is even worse than CA!

I'm no expert on a CA Guillory case, but from what little I understand, it requires: (1) CA's PRA law; (2) the CBS v. Block CA state case law; and (3) the Salute v. Pitchess CA state case law. If HI has equivalents of those in place, a Hawaiian Guillory case could be brought at any time!

If HI doesn't have one or more of those in place, pro-CCW people in HI now know the steps they need to take (i.e., legislation to pass, precedents to establish), in order to deliver a knock out punch to their anti-CCW chiefs/sheriffs.

If any of you know any pro-CCW people in Hawaii, or esp any pro-CCW Hawaiian attorneys, be sure to pass this suggestion on to them.

Edit to add key words for search engines: Hawaiian Honolulu concealed carry weapon CCW handgun pistol revolver self-defense citizen civilian RKBA Second Amendment 2nd

Edit: See these threads for more info re bringing a Guillory federal lawsuit:
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=58468
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=67462

CCWFacts
09-21-2007, 3:35 PM
It's a pretty different situation over there.

First, do they have a PRA law? They probably have something but it might not be like CA's, and there might not be CBS v Block as a lever.

Second, my understanding is that CCWs simply aren't issued there, ever, so it's hard to claim unfair issuance. I could be wrong on that; I don't have any good sources to back up that claim.