PDA

View Full Version : 1000m Long Range Target Bolt Action Rifle from Scratch

smith629
02-02-2013, 4:51 AM
I'm looking to get into long range steel plinking and will be starting from scratch, having no inventory of old bolt actions to start from (I do have a high power vortex scope on order so my optics are covered). I've been researching a ton of different cartridges and I'd like to go with the 7mm rem due to the excellent ballistic coefficients of bullets like the Hornady 162g amax. I also like how it doesn't have too much recoil. I will be hand loading ammo for this rifle.

I'm totally new to precision bolt actions and it seems a bit overwhelming. I'd really like to skip the whole fiddling process of buying a remington 700 and tearing it apart and replacing everything bit by bit while selling all the old stuff. I also don't want to play around with glass bedding and all that. Instead, I'd like to go a minimal-mod route and get a rifle with good accuracy out of the box, maybe replacing just the stock. That said, my budget won't permit 5k for a new a Surgeon rifle right off the shelf. Plus a lot of the nice rifles I see like say the HD precision are 5k+ and chambered only in the popular .308/338 rounds, and they market their rifles more towards duty rifles vs. purely target shooting.

Here are my requirements:
-Heavy barrel that is threaded so I can add a muzzle brake
-Quality stock like a mcmillan or so
-Ability to use a picitanny mount so I don't have to buy a new scope mount
-Crisp/clean target trigger, or ability to drop in a better later (I am a trigger snob).

What would you recommend for a $1500-2500 budget?

StraightShooter
02-02-2013, 5:17 AM