PDA

View Full Version : Gift to family in CA

LAK Supply
09-16-2007, 8:22 PM
Been looking around in the old threads, but I can't find the exact answer..... I know this was discussed here somewhere....

If I was a resident of another state would it be legal for me to give my dad an off-list handgun (Security Six for example) for Christmas? Out of state must go through FFL regardless of whether it's a gift to family, right?

If it's a no-go on the unlisted gun my options are listed handgun or long gun to FFL, correct?

CSDGuy
09-16-2007, 8:26 PM
Out of state transfers must go through an FFL, but I thought I'd read that there was an intrafamilial exemption for off list firearms... I could be wrong...

LAK Supply
09-16-2007, 8:58 PM
Out of state transfers must go through an FFL, but I thought I'd read that there was an intrafamilial exemption for off list firearms... I could be wrong...

That's what I thought I heard....... any confirmations here?

wilit
09-16-2007, 9:26 PM
Take a look at this thread. I remember this very topic being discussed.

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=63667&highlight=dad&page=2

bwiese
09-16-2007, 10:05 PM
Assuming
(1) you are a resident of another state;
(2) your *father* is a resident of CA;
(3) you wanna give him a handgun;

The handgun can be "unsafe" and non-Rostered since it's an interfamiliar transfer, and does not matter if it crosses state lines for CA's purposes.

CA laws allow interfamiliar transfer without FFL providing the recipient has a HSC card (and of course is not a 'prohibited person').

Interfamily includes only relationships between grandparent, parent and child. "Step"-relationships may well be questionable and I am not sure when a stepfather really is a father.