View Full Version : new and need advice

09-14-2007, 10:36 PM

Well, to begin with the intro, I live in the San Diego area. I'm a college student so it goes without saying that I'm on a tight budget. As far as the armory is concerned, it's limited to a Savage 7mm Magnum and a Ruger 10/22 LR. I love them both and I would recommend them to anyone. That being said, I'm looking to add a few more weapons. Currently, I'm interested in purchasing a good shotgun that can be used for both hunting and home-defense, a California legal SKS, and a Mosin-Nagant. From what I've read, I'd like to find an 1891/30 in good condition but I wouldn't mind owning either the m38 or m44.

I would appreciate any and all advice that I can get with regards to purchasing the above mentioned weapons.

09-14-2007, 10:39 PM
Get a C&R license, it won't help with the shotgun but it will with the rest.

09-15-2007, 1:20 AM
Is it difficult to get a C&R license, or can anyone who can legally own a firearm get the C&R license as well?

09-15-2007, 7:25 AM
Here's the ATF's Q&A for collectors: http://www.atf.treas.gov/firearms/fflc/ffl/faqs_collect.htm and the Q&A for licensing: http://www.atf.treas.gov/firearms/fflc/ffl/faqs_lic.htm. What you want to do is call 703-455-7801 and ask for a form 7CR be sent to you, fill it out and send it back with a check for $30, forward a copy to your local PD, and anxiously wait. After 4-6 weeks you'll get your 03FFL license in the mail along with a stack of regs and books.

Send copies of your license to all the online resellers right away, and you can then buy direct from them. Don't forget to send copies to MidwayUSA, Brownells, and CDNN as they will extend their dealer discounts to you.

09-15-2007, 7:34 AM
This site also has a great step by step on getting your C&R.

Surplus Rifle C&R Info (http://www.surplusrifle.com/shooting2005/howtogetyourcurionrelicffl03/index.asp)

09-15-2007, 12:07 PM