PDA

View Full Version : Lowers and fair trade

elenius
08-29-2007, 7:38 PM
As I understand it, some lowers, like Colt and Armalite, are still banned, right? Whereas others, like Rock River and Stag are not. But aren't there laws that prohibit arbitrarily treating different companies differently? I'm sure Stag and RR have made lots of money on the OLL situation, and Colt lost out big time, right? Isn't this a violation of interstate trade laws? Why isn't Colt and others suing the crap out of CA?

To me, this would be an argument for eliminating the list altogether, although to the powers that be it might be an argument to put everything on the list...

Just wondering. Sorry if I'm confused, I'm new to this stuff.

aplinker
08-29-2007, 8:04 PM
As I understand it, some lowers, like Colt and Armalite, are still banned, right? Whereas others, like Rock River and Stag are not. But aren't there laws that prohibit arbitrarily treating different companies differently? I'm sure Stag and RR have made lots of money on the OLL situation, and Colt lost out big time, right? Isn't this a violation of interstate trade laws? Why isn't Colt and others suing the crap out of CA?

To me, this would be an argument for eliminating the list altogether, although to the powers that be it might be an argument to put everything on the list...

As bans are by make and model I'm sure they could simply, if desired, stamp something different on their receivers.

I think just about every company has an OLL in one form or another (whether they're still sold or readily available is another issue).

JawBone
08-29-2007, 8:06 PM
:iagree:

Colt doesn't want to play in the civilian market anymore.

ccwguy
08-29-2007, 8:12 PM

I figure that's why they amended the 2007 CFL..

AB 2728 (Stats. 2006, ch. 793) (Klehs)
C Repeals DOJ's authority under Penal Code §12276.1 to identify Colt AR-15 and AK-47 type
“series” assault weapons by name, or to seek a judicial declaration that a firearm is identical to