PDA

View Full Version : Out of state questions...

Bushtree
08-29-2007, 2:56 PM
Hey guys, I tried searching but wasn't able to find anything that answers what im looking for. I've tried reading the CA Laws but an throughly confused.

Anways, I am a CA resident, but living in AZ for the time being.

Could i purchase an M1 Garand (C&R Rifle) from an AZ resident while living here in arizona even though im a ca resident? If so could i do a face to face sale, or go though an AZ FFL? I wont be back in CA for some months, so transferring it to a CA FFL doesnt really work. And if so, in a couple of months when i come back to CA what would i need to do, to bring it back legally?

My second question is, could i go into a Gun Shop here in AZ and purchase an OLL then put a Maglock with a 10rd mag in it, yhus making it CA legal (fixed mag) and then bring it back into CA in a couple of months. If so, what are the steps to bring it back legally?

Thanks for all your help,

blkA4alb
08-29-2007, 3:47 PM
As a resident of California you cannot purchase a firearm out of your state of residence (there are a few exceptions I believe.)

If you were to become an AZ resident and then wish to move back into California with the Garand you bought then all you have to do is drive it across the boarder. There is no registration process or such to go through. Same goes for the California legal AR lower.

hoffmang
08-29-2007, 3:52 PM
Older than 50 years and not a handgun can probably be transacted out of state as long as it is legal in the state you're in.

I'd want to double check the PC, but I can't think of any problem specifically with a transaction that fit those details.

-Gene

ghettoshecky
08-29-2007, 5:27 PM
I'm curious about this too. It seems Hoffmang and Blk are contradicting each other. Blk seems to say no dice, while Hoffmang says there are exceptions with a C&R. Can someone please give more input.

hoffmang
08-29-2007, 5:34 PM
OP's second question wasn't there when I posted.