PDA

View Full Version : Washington State resident visits California

herbstrandberg
01-09-2013, 11:07 PM
I invited a visiting Washington State resident with his Glock 19 handgun to shoot with me at the Palm Springs Gun Club. I am a California resident that also owns a Glock 19. When he unpacked his gun, I discovered it has two 15 round magazine!!!! It is legal in Washington (he purchased the gun with two magazines a few months ago).

As a visitor to California, what are his rights with the 15 round magazine. Does e need to buy 10 round magazines for when he shoots in California, or is he grandfatherd in.

Today I went by two gun shops in the Palm Springs area and got different answers. First shop said that he was legal, but some officers might not know it and give him some trouble -- might be best to make a purchase of a 10 round magazine. Second shop said that by vacationing in California with his gun, that he illegally IMPORTED the magazines into California, and that they could be confiscated by the police. (I never thought that bringing a suitcase with used underwear and shirts was importing those items too!!!)

So what are his rights in California as a snowbird visitor who will be returning to Washington State in three months (with his gun and his two 15 round magazines)

Herb

tommyfly
01-09-2013, 11:18 PM
I believe he CAN NOT have em.
otherwise anyone could go accross state lines, buy a "hi cap mag" and come back and use it here.
He should dis-assemble them for the remainder of his vacation here in CA.

Even if it is legal, and i dont believe it is, its not worth the trouble if some LEO stumbles accross them and dosnt know the law.

im not well versed with these laws, but better safe then imprisoned

jaustin612
01-09-2013, 11:21 PM
If he owned them prior to 2000 or whatever exact date that Kali did the ban he is good. If he got them later, then he isn't. doesnt matter if he's coming from out of state or not.