PDA

View Full Version : Should all firearms sales require a background check poll

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

brianm767
01-06-2013, 9:58 AM
Personally and this is just my opinion, I can't believe that in other parts of the, US you can buy a firearm without going through a background check. As some have suggested maybe this is because I'm a life long Cali resident.

When I travel for work, I ask the guys I'm working with in the other states, how do go about selling your guns here? They always give me that blank look and then say some one gives me cash, I give them the gun, no background check, no I'd check, just cash for gun and walk.

I know there's lots of debate on people being able to sale their own private property without Goverment involvement, but once again, IMOP I think there should be "some type of check" to make sure the buyer is not flagged in the system, just as they have to with a new firearm, but maybe that's just me?

For the purpose of this poll, C&R will stay as it is. Just want to know about the selling of modern firearms without some type of background check.

I edited my post since many of you are just debating that there is no gun show loophole, or are thinking I'm just specifically asking about guns sold at a gun show.

I now see and agree it was a very poor choice of words,I didn't want a debate if there is or is not a loophole, and I am not asking about gun shows.

I don't know how to edit the poll question so please just disregard the loophole part,

The question is simple, should firearm sales require a background check? (C&R excluded)
Yes or No

Choptop
01-06-2013, 10:06 AM
There are federal requirements for being able to purchase a firearm... checking to see if a person meets those requirements is not out of line.

Trojan Bayonet
01-06-2013, 10:08 AM
It's already illegal for a felons and those deemed mentally incompetent to possess a firearm. It is also illegal for a person to sell to anyone who fits the definition of one of those categories.