PDA

View Full Version : My letter to Diane Feinstein

hattles
01-04-2013, 5:40 PM
Please, if you agree, send your own letter to your senator and let them know your views on any and all gun bans. Sen. Feinstein is our California senator. Feel free to copy this letter.
https://www.feinstein.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/e-mail-me

Honorable Senator Feinstein,

I am a gun owner and want to express my views about the proposed legislation attempting to make it harder for law abiding people to enjoy the sports of shooting and owning a firearm.

I am a retired Transportation Manager and I am genuinely concerned that the government plans to eclipse my usage of sport shooting.

Gun ownership is one of the most ardent rights that I believe in. We need to enforce the laws we already have and get rid of the ones that are not enforceable.

I realize as a legislator you have to show that you are receptive to our needs. I am not one that wants you to reinstall the ban on so-called assault weapons or regular capacity magazines.

You cannot legislate “crazy.” In almost every instance of mass killing, there were ample red flags and warning alarms that either were avoided or were not acted upon by mental health professionals, family members, friends and acquaintances. While I deeply respect an individual’s privacy and civil liberties, the American people need basic awareness of what indicators to look for regarding potentially violent, psychotic people. Our collective safety begins with being collectively vigilant.

We need to promote gun safety through public education so that younger generations will grow up with a well-rounded understanding of firearm safety.

In closing, I would like to emphasize that you work for me, not the other way around. I will not cower to you or anyones else's gun grabbing mentality. I have an inalienable right to own the gun of my choice for any and all legal means up to and including my own personal defense of self and property.