PDA

View Full Version : Access to handgun registration info

PureNTS
01-03-2013, 6:26 PM
Here in the LA basin, Los Angeles City Attorney Carmen Trutanich

( http://laist.com/2012/12/20/dear_la_...ty_attorne.php )

is going to be sending out a letter to all recent handgun purchasers reminding them of how to properly store their weapons.
Correct me if Iím wrong: I thought those kind of records were, by law, unavailable to anyone unless the person, or individual, was under investigation for breaking the law in some form or fashion. Then, and only then, were the records made available to law enforcement. No one gets access, and if they do only under strict guidelines.

Can anybody quote Chapter and verse in the California code where this is in print denying these fools access?

FYI; Hi! I'm a newbie and this got me going enough to join in and question their legal ability to do this. I'm not much on conspiracies but this strikes me as up there enough to seriously question it.

PureNTS
01-04-2013, 8:33 PM
This is disturbing. Here's a fight, worth having, win-able with the requested info, and here we are...

If this info IS obtainable by our legislature, for whatever reason they decide, is it also not possible for them, under a freedom of information act, to obtain a list of what you or I have and how many and turn it over to the media? You know, like they have done back east.

bwiese
01-04-2013, 8:36 PM
One way it'd have no legal problem is if they gave the letters to CA DOJ plus any postage/mailing costs and DOJ printed the labels from their DROS info.

cdtx2001
01-04-2013, 9:20 PM
One way it'd have no legal problem is if they gave the letters to CA DOJ plus any postage/mailing costs and DOJ printed the labels from their DROS info.

Somehow I don't think it's gonna go down that way.

john67elco
01-04-2013, 9:24 PM
I clicked your link and got this

PAGE NOT FOUND
We're sorry, but we couldn't find the page you requested. But we've got a few ideas you may want to try: