PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here selling some rifles, Cash and Carry, how does it work?

huntingsocal
01-03-2013, 12:22 PM
Hi guys,

I've got a couple rifles up for sale in the private firearms forum and I'm getting a lot of questions about "cash and carry"

One is Mosin M44 built in 1953 and the other a Mauser built in 1943 (I think, trying to verify that)

I don't have any sort of FFL at all and put in the description that I want to do local PPT at a gun store but again, getting lots of "cash and carry" questions so wondering how that works and if I'd be able to do it or if I need to sell through FFL since I don't have one.

Thanks guys!

emcon5
01-03-2013, 12:38 PM
http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/Buying_and_selling_firearms_in_California#Buying_f rom_a_Private_Party_-_PPT

Scroll down to "Buying from a Private Party WITHOUT a Dealer "

Long gun over 50 years old, both parties CA residents, buyer hands you money, you hand them rifle.

It probably isn't a bad idea to see something to verify their identity/resident status, and get a bill of sale, but it is not required.

morrcarr67
01-03-2013, 12:40 PM
You can sell long guns that are 50 years old or older without using a FFL for transfer.

It is recommended that you get a Bill of Sale signed and you have to verify that the person you're selling to is a CA resident or has a C&R FFL.

morrcarr67
01-03-2013, 12:42 PM
5 typed faster than I did.

huntingsocal
01-03-2013, 12:44 PM
Thanks gents,
Gotta love www.calguns.net to help me keep all of this straight. I'll update the listing accordingly

knucklehead0202
01-03-2013, 11:48 PM
no big deal, after you do it once you'll feel much more confident, especially once you meet and BS with some good calgunners. there are some weird ones, but 99% that i've dealt with have been super-cool, which is heartening. this is both buying and selling, mostly buying but i have sold a few things and it's always been a good experience. best of luck!

Quiet
01-04-2013, 5:40 AM