PDA

View Full Version : Which case tumbler should I get?

The Geologist
12-26-2012, 9:29 AM
Lyman, RCBS, Hornady or ......

X231
12-26-2012, 9:34 AM
Great question! I'll be watching this thread.

DucatiSS
12-26-2012, 9:37 AM
I have a Lyman 2500 pro and it works great. My only regret was not getting the auto flow (only $20 more at the time) to make it easier to dump the media and get the shiny brass out.

stilly
12-26-2012, 9:52 AM
If you are just going to clean your brass then you could go with one of the vibrator ones (sorry I have no experience there) or you can go with a thumler tumbler or some other rotary tumbler. I think this question has the ability to turn into a ford/chevy debate but in all honesty I have not seen too many fan boys of one particular brand. I am a fan of the Thumler but after cleaning my brass it tends to take a dull not so flashy look. But hey, it is easy and I do not have to mess with dry media nor do I have to keep buying media and I am fairly confident that I only need to buy dawn dish soap and some lemi shine to keep it running. You know the grass is greener on the other side syndrome? Well I want a dry media tumbler now just to see if I can throw my loaded shells in there to shine them up. You can not do that to them with a wet process tumbler. In all honesty though I am still glad to have my wet process tumbler. I even made a review:
http://www.amazon.com/Thumler-Lapidary-Rock-Tumbler-Tool/dp/B000RAWG50/ref=cm_cr-mr-title

Yeah the brass looks all pretty as soon as it comes out but then the air hits it and it tends to tarnish a bit. Just a little peeve of mine, at least I know my reloads at the range.