PDA

View Full Version : If this ban is struck down, could that help California?

Goop
12-24-2012, 8:58 PM
I'm not a law professor nor am I familiar with all the legal standings of constitutional vs unconstitutional rights of gun laws. I was wondering though if this new ban is crushed in the house and senate, or if maybe the supreme court rules it as a unconstitutional. Could this set a precedent needed to overturn the assault weapon ban here in California?

Everyone is worried about it passing for good reason... but if it doesn't pass, doesn't that help us in some way?

JoshuaS
12-24-2012, 9:17 PM
This "new ban"? What is this "new ban"? Did they just pass something today?

If they made a law similar to CA's, and it was ruled unconstitutional, it would still depend on what grounds. The 2nd amendment was only recently held incorporated against the states. This does not mean, however, that it applies to the states in the same way as the federal government. Take the 5th amendment. Were the Federal government to indict me for a felony, they have to get a grand jury to issue the indictment. But the state of California very rarely uses grand juries. Wait you say, the 5th amendment states "No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a grand jury" But the Bill of Rights, as originally ratified, applied only to the Federal government.