PDA

View Full Version : Registered Assault Weapon "Considerations"

DaveN007
12-17-2012, 5:09 PM
This thread is for those patient types who enjoy answering the same question over and over again. ;) Someone who likes sharing his knowledge. :)

I have searched extensively but am a bit confused...

I have been "out of the loop" for the past decade or more, although I faithfully head out to Sac Valley Shooting Center once a year to shoot and pay my membership fee for the year. It is sort of the principle of the thing. :D My life has been dedicated to raising a brood of kids and getting them comfortable with airguns as a starter. I am hoping that one of the resident experts here can quickly help me understand the state of the rules that need to be considered.

First, my AR...

I have a Bushmaster I purchased in 1999 (post ban), and registered in 2000/2001. I have the letter from the DOJ confirming registration, a copy of my original application with certified mail receipt, etc. (Interesting tidbit...my certified receipt shows DEC 27,2000...and DOJ letter is dated March 26, 2001...deadline was supposed to be 1/23/2001...so the date on the letter does not equal registration date if things were not confusing enough.)

I also have a "supply" of 30 round magazines purchased in the late 90's. Oh, yes...I have receipts.

How might I be afoul with the law today?

Is a LEO in the forest going to freak out because my rifle uses detachable magazines...30 rounders, no less? I carry my docs in a zip lock bag to the range and have never had anyone say a word to me aside from "nice rifle".

I mounted a new bull barrel upper on the rifle at some point. Bare stainless. No "features".

Any issues?

Next: My Keltec SU-16

Same 30 round magazines from 1990s (with receipts), but used in my SU-16 that didn't exist when I bought the mags. Issues?

Finally: My Ruger Mini 14 ranch rifle from 1992 with a Ruger factory 20 round magazine. Any issues?