PDA

View Full Version : leo and military only firearms. what are the laws?

gparker5150
12-15-2012, 2:16 PM
this is my first time getting on calguns, i looked through the posts for just a few minutes and did't see an answer to my question so here goes. I've just come home from training in the U.S. Army. I'm in the reserves and was wondering if since i'm in the military does that mean i can buy any weapons that might be restricted to other buyers? I'm not looking to buy a rocket launcher or anything the exact weapon that has my attention is a Springfield XD M (.45 acp) i hope thats plenty of info, if not then ask anything and I'll answer to the best of my ability. thanx.

Z06
12-15-2012, 2:27 PM
As stupid as it sounds and while you can defend our country(thank you for your service) you cannot buy off list guns. Only active Leo's can. You can however buy the gun your looking for through a ppt. So yes and no. You can buy. Just can't walk into a gun store and buy brand new.

Hope this helped

Librarian
12-15-2012, 2:51 PM
Z06 is correct.

There is no military exemption from the California Roster of Handguns.

jj805
12-15-2012, 2:57 PM
Look into the Single Shot Exemption (SSE).

Glock31B
12-15-2012, 3:01 PM
Im in the Army Reserves, to CA this doesnt mean anything. Still have to follow CA law as if we were just citizens "and im a MP". You can however do PPT and SSE. As for AR platforms you still have to follow CA law. 10 round mag with BB on it if with pistol grap etc, unless you were lucky enough to get a RAW when they were given them out......

RickD427
12-15-2012, 3:22 PM
First of all, thank you for your service.

The above posters are correct. There are no provisions in the law for military members to acquire "off-roster" firearms. You can lawfully acquire one through the PPT process from a private seller.