PDA

View Full Version : The Big Elephant in the Room - 2A for Protection Against Tyranny

mikestesting
12-12-2012, 9:20 AM
Disclaimer: I am not a legal expert and make no claim to be.

I've been getting into 2A politics pretty heavily and have been doing some browsing over the last few months of the cases here in CA and at the national level (hooray for Illinois!) and I've noticed that all of the counsel on our side argue the 2A for self-protection against thugs and rapists. Even the recent Illinois 7th Circuit case had the majority specifically mention thugs on the street.

It is my personal belief that the single biggest reason for the 2A was for The People to have protection and an insurance policy against a future tyrannical government. I believe the 2A gives us the right to bear arms, with the specific intent to use those arms against a future corrupt government, foreign or domestic. I don't think this is just my own belief, but a common view shared and repeated amongst American historians.

So this leads to my question: Why is this never brought up in court? It seems to be the one thing that the 2A was intended for, but no one wants to talk about it. Would bringing this reason up make pro-2Aers seem loony and crazy? Would it make us seem like traitors?

I really don't get it. Americans are supposed to be patriots, freedom lovers, and against tyranny. Can someone please explain to me why no one talks about the big elephant in the room, from a legal perspective?

Mitch
12-12-2012, 9:28 AM
I really don't get it. Americans are supposed to be patriots, freedom lovers, and against tyranny. Can someone please explain to me why no one talks about the big elephant in the room, from a legal perspective?

Because:

1) No one wants to stand before a judge and demand relief for his client who is arming himself to prepare for violent revolution against the government of the United States; and