PDA

View Full Version : How many rounds should I bring for Dove?

Flux Capacitor
08-06-2007, 10:44 AM
About how many round of shotgun ammo should I bring to the field with me. I understand its based on how well I shoot etc, but I am a newb and would like to try and make an educated guess. Whats the AVG success rate per shot taken? Thanks guys

Sydwaiz
08-06-2007, 11:40 AM
If you are good, 10. :D If it's your first time, a few boxes!

Egan
08-06-2007, 11:55 AM
Those buggers move a bit too fast for me, but I don't usually go through more then 3-4 boxes in two days.

Coastey
08-06-2007, 4:03 PM
If you've never gone dove hunting before, I'd bring at least two boxes. Leave one in the truck/car and take one with you. Dove hunting is some of the best shooting there is...and you get all the shooting you want out of your system... because I always went deer hunting after dove season and was lucky to get one or two shots off during a hunt. I had a box of 30-06 last me quite a few seasons, but went through at least a box and a half of 20 gauge shells a season.

Hunter
08-06-2007, 10:32 PM
About how many round of shotgun ammo should I bring to the field with me. I understand its based on how well I shoot etc, but I am a newb and would like to try and make an educated guess. Whats the AVG success rate per shot taken? Thanks guys

If you can take a limit with a box of shells, you are doing OK. But it is not uncommon to see new shooters going thru 2-3 boxes for the limit. Dove shells are cheap and so tossing in a 3-4 boxes in the vehicle is the way to go.

82A1CAL
08-06-2007, 10:55 PM
Bring one case! It's better to have too many than not enough. ;D

Rumpled
08-07-2007, 9:28 AM
I've read reports that the average is 6-8 rounds per dove taken.
I usually carry two boxes on me and have more in the truck.

We tend to throw some clays in the evenings also, so over the opener weekend; I might go thru 10 boxes or so.

elsolo
08-07-2007, 11:33 AM
I always bring 200-300 shells.