PDA

View Full Version : Threaded handgun barrel

Apostolos
12-04-2012, 3:35 PM
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but just having a threaded handgun barrel is not an AW violation, but installing the threaded barrel on a functioning gun would be, correct?

Thanks.
David

MattyB
12-04-2012, 3:42 PM
Maybe...

Constructive intent is IMO purposely vague. While not technically illegal (im not a lawyer), having a gun to go with the barrel would probably be enough to get you detained and possibly sentenced.

Its the same as having m16 fc parts in states other than CA. Technically they are just parts but if you have an AR to go along with it you are screwed and you're tiptoeing a very fine line possessing them without an AR.

If I was you Id lose that barrel or modify it to be legal.

alfred1222
12-04-2012, 4:04 PM
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but just having a threaded handgun barrel is not an AW violation, but installing the threaded barrel on a functioning gun would be, correct?

Thanks.
David

Theoretically no, but idk how constructive possession laws work with pistols. I know you will run into problems if the only barrel you have for that gun is the threaded one. If you have a non-threaded barrel, I think you can pass of the threaded barrel as a spare part

bwiese
12-04-2012, 5:04 PM
People should speak up about matters like this if and only if they actually know a bit what they're talking about....

KEEP YOUR FRIGGIN' BARRELS AND IGNORE THE ABOVE POSTERS.

"Constructive possession" expressly does NOT exist for CA AW 'characteristic features'. Background...

prior DOJ Firearms Deputy AG/Asst Dir Tim Rieger went on record in writing to NRA attorneys in early 2000s to expressly
say 'constructive possession' does not exist for AWs.
CA Dangerous Weapons law specifies concept & phrasing constructive possession phrasing for various other firearms matters
(certainly MGs, SBRs, SBSes, and explosive DDs...)