PDA

View Full Version : Chokes for hunting...

River Jack
08-03-2007, 3:43 PM
I'm new to hunting and have a question about chokes. The 26" barrel I want to buy for my Rem. 870 comes with three choke tubes. Which one do I use for what. For instance, I'm planning on hunting doves this opening season. Which choke would I use (if any) for doves? I want to hunt turkey one of these days. Which choke (if any) would I use for turkey? etc...

I'm taking the hunter's safety course next Sat., so please forgive me if these are questions that will likely be covered in that class. Just consider it a little pre-class prep.

Any and all insight into chokes, hunting, etc. are greatly appreciated.

RJ

Fjold
08-03-2007, 3:57 PM
The tighter the choke the smaller the pattern at the same range or the longer the distance for the same size pattern.

Three chokes are probably Improved cylinder, Modified and Full.

Improved Cylinder is for relatively close range shooting where a load of No 8 shot will shoot a 30" pattern at approximately 20 yards.

Modified is made for shooting the same load to the same 30" pattern at around 30 yards.

Full choke would shoot the same load to a 30" pattern at around 40 yards.

Doves are normally shot with small (No. 7 1/2, 8, or 9) shot at varying distances. Having the interchangeable chokes lets you change it out to fit the flight of the birds. Start with a modified choke and if the birds are farther out switch to full. Usually people will use the improved cylinder choke for jump shooting birds like quail, etc at closer ranges.

A full choke at close range is harder to hit with because the shot is in such a tight pattern.

Use the full choke with a 4, 5 or 6 shot for turkeys as you are aiming (rather than point shooting) at a real small target, the turkey's head and neck.

rg_1111@yahoo.com
08-03-2007, 4:11 PM
Fjold did a great explanation.
I would use Mod for Doves, Quail, Squirrels.
Improved Cylinder For Rabbits,Chuckers.