PDA

View Full Version : Phenix or G Loomis?

geedavell
12-02-2012, 3:40 PM
The wife wants to buy me one for Christmas. I have no experience with neither.
Looking for ultra light trout rod. Anyone out there have one?

64ssking
12-02-2012, 3:58 PM
phenix 8' one piece 2-4lb class is the way to go

boomer135
12-02-2012, 5:05 PM
Honestly look at the rods from TFO... When Gary Loomis sold the company he paired up with Temple Fork Outfitters, sells his designs much cheaper through TFO

geedavell
12-02-2012, 5:17 PM
TFO? I'll google that.

Rickycg
12-02-2012, 8:23 PM
i have both gloomis is the way to go i have owned 3 iron feathers and they all broke 2 inches from the tip but never had a problem with any other phinex rods

castgold
12-02-2012, 10:44 PM
Whether a factory wrapped rod or a custom wrap, I'd go for the Phenix over the current GLoomis rods/blanks.

The only Loomis rods I have that were wrapped on-spline are the long-discontinued Salt Water Series blanks. You'd be lucky to find any that are wrapped with the spline in line with the action. All the Phenix rods I've pulled on and fished are factory wrapped with the guides wrapped on-spline or close to it. I've talked to Jeff (head of Phenix) a few times and he takes details very seriously. They're right off the 605 in Cerritos which is a plus, although I've never had a problem with their products that would require me to see them.

Phenix has some pretty nice materials that get good tip pressure while still being parabolic across a range of line classes. I have no financial stake in Phenix Rods, but for now, all my future build plans will be either Phenix or United Composites.

For light stuff, you might want to also consider St. Croix and Rainshadow.

geedavell
12-03-2012, 12:40 PM
Can you go to their shop in Cerritos to look and buy from them or only through dealers?

boar308
12-03-2012, 5:08 PM