PDA

View Full Version : Mateba 6 Unica walnut grip duplicate

chazbot
11-29-2012, 10:39 PM
I have a 6 Unica in .44 and while I do have the original custom grips, I would prefer to have duplicates made. Anyone have any recommendations on who to contact? I've tried a few custom grip makers, but they just do the normal Ruger/Colt/Smith line up with some Taurus or Rossi thrown in.

Some guy on gunbroker is hoarding the spare grips, refusing to sell them and instead is offering aluminum replacements with wood panel inserts for $400 - which is far far overpriced.

prop carver
11-30-2012, 3:47 AM
Have you considered making a set.

I was able to find a copy of a patent that appears to have enough basic info to get started.

http://matebafan.com/unica/patent.pdf

I'm no expert by any means. Basically a rookie woodworker and I use mostly hand saws, files and sanding blocks to get a set cut and finished.

I've made a few grip sets for my 1911 and a Walnut set for my Blackhawk which, oddly enough, looks similar to the photos I've seen of a Unica. It isn't that difficult. I'd give it a go before I shelled out 400 bucks for something I didn't want.

Regards,

chazbot
11-30-2012, 9:50 AM
i'm not so good with wood working - just the basics from shop back in high school. i'm more of a metal working guy. thanks, i may as well give it a try. any idea on wood? i figure just walnut like the original would work alright.

nsbeach
11-30-2012, 10:09 AM
Hmmm-might be a job for a 3D Printer-:)

chazbot
11-30-2012, 10:44 AM
i thought 3d printers used some kind of polymer compound - not wood. or at least not wood sturdy enough for a grip.

It's a one piece grip, and the 6 Unica has a habit of cracking them with repeatedly full power use. I do not have the .44 special spring (although I can shoot those in DA) so to get the full benefit i would need a replacement grip that i don't care about breaking so i can save the factory ones.