PDA

View Full Version : school me on 1911 80%ers

TheExiled
11-29-2012, 9:50 PM
Enlighten me?
Im new to this idea, how do I get one, are there better brands than others, where can I get the rest of the parts?
Interested in building a .40/10mm and if this is anything like building an AR, this would be the better route for me

desertjosh
11-29-2012, 10:00 PM
Tagged op cause Im in the same boat, except i want it in .45 or 9mm.

TheExiled
11-30-2012, 7:32 AM
A friend of mine said he picked up a stripped frame and is building a 9mm, im open to this as well. Anyone have info on this as well/either? I can't get ahold of him atm

Freq18Hz
11-30-2012, 8:22 AM
It's not like building an AR. Reputable companies dont sell 80% built 1911's. 1911 accuracy comes from two things: well made parts, and proper fitting. This requires know how.

By the time all is said and done, you will have spent more than you would have buying a gun from a respected gunsmith.

If DIY is your goal, there are other 1911 specific forums that will have more info.

In general 1911's are not good to go cheap on. The general consensus is that spending around $1500 on new gun like a Dan Wesson, or similar Springfield will get you a very nice gun. Above that price point, and you hit a law of diminishing returns on your money. Below it, and you are skimping on features and/or quality.

You will find some that will tell you that Kimbers or Sigs are great and report success with them, for less than $1500. Others (myself included) will argue that point. One thing pretty much everyone agrees on however, is that a $1500 Dan Wesson, or a Springfield TRP is a very nice gun, that can stand in the same company as guns costing twice the price (Wilson, Brown, Baer, etc.)

So what's the difference between a $500 1911 and a $5000 1911?

-quality of materials
-quality of workmanship
-reliability
-performance
-comfort
-customer service (Wilson and Springfield are the best, period.)