PDA

View Full Version : Can a landlord ask the tenants to remove their firearms from rented property?

Lugiahua
11-22-2012, 1:11 PM
ok, this came into my mind recently since I current live on a rented space.
my landlord knows my firearms, but I always worry about if he changes his mind. So I am planning ahead just in case.

Can a landlord tell the tenants to remove my firearms from a rented house half way during the lease term?
assuming firearms are not listed in the contract.

Intimid8tor
11-22-2012, 1:14 PM
Not to my knowledge (assuming written contract).

How does he know you have firearms in the first place?

NoNOS67
11-22-2012, 1:15 PM
my landlord knows my firearms, but I always worry about if he changes his mind. So I am planning ahead just in case.

Can a landlord tell the tenants to remove my firearms from a rented house half way during the lease term?

I'm no lawyer, but I'm going to say NOPE! If your lease stated "no firearms", that would be a different story. Why does your landlord know about them in the first place?

Lugiahua
11-22-2012, 1:17 PM
Not to my knowledge (assuming written contract).

How does he know you have firearms in the first place?

we went to shooting and hunting together, so of course he knows;)

He is ok with firearms (a fine Florida raised man), but his wife (raised local in Bay area) is quite against it.
so I am only worrying about if his wife making him change his mind.

SilverTauron
11-22-2012, 1:51 PM
Only if the tenants agree to the policy in writing.Otherwise its just opinion.

Just watch out for the lease renewal.

Lugiahua
11-22-2012, 1:57 PM
Only if the tenants agree to the policy in writing.Otherwise its just opinion.

Just watch out for the lease renewal.

I am graduating in few months, and applying for LEO jobs.
likely to move to the town near the academy. so it's not a problem.

BamBam-31
11-22-2012, 1:58 PM
As long as it wasn't in your original lease, you should be fine.

Scarecrow Repair
11-22-2012, 2:10 PM