PDA

View Full Version : Wanting a new Glock 19

MotoriousRacing
11-20-2012, 11:03 PM
I'm a bit of a newb, trying hard to do some firearms research. I'm building the security portion of my emergency preparation. I'm wanting a Glock G19, and I like the FDE, but the Glock USA website doesn't say anything about it. Is there anything different from the black besides color?

Regarding the DOJ handgun roster, these G19s are listed.

Model - Gun Type - Barrel Length - Caliber - Exp Date
19C / Steel, Polymer - Pistol - 4" - 9mm - 6/4/2013
19 / Steel, Polymer - Pistol - 4.02" - 9mm - 12/31/2013
19 OD / Steel, Polymer - Pistol - 4.02" - 9mm - 11/16/2013

The roster specifically states Gen 4's are not yet approved, and I believe the OD is for an Olive Drab (Green), but what is difference between the 19 and 19C? Why are no previous Gen's listed, or is the 19C a Gen 3? Since OD is specifically listed, can I assume that since I don't see FDE listed, it is not approved, even though it may just be a color difference?

I'm asking because I would consider a Black Gen 3, if that is what a 19C is, to avoid the hassle of the SSE and reconversion, and the BTTF I've been reading about.

Thanks for helping a newb become better prepared.

MalC
11-20-2012, 11:11 PM
afaik gen 3s have the same BTTF issues. The 19c is the compensated version of the gen 3 G19. Yes you need to do a SSE for the FDE.

MA2
11-20-2012, 11:53 PM
The Gen3 OD/FDE were discontinued a couple of years ago. Buy a used one or Cerakote is an option.
There was one special batch, all gone by now.

C's are compensated/ported (holes/cuts in the barred and slide), pointless for a 9mm.
It's your emergency/defensive gun, so C model are definitely not recommended.

Gen1-3 are all considered the same as far as the roster goes (RTF/RTF2 are Gen3's most of those did not make the roster).

BTF, 50/50 draw of the luck for anything made after ~2009, gen3 or 4.

Oh, since you are new, $500+tax+dros is a good price for the Gen3 19's.