PDA

View Full Version : Entering CA with Firearms

mythfit
11-19-2012, 7:51 AM
I will be entering CA soon to visit my children and grand children. I plan to stay 10-14 days. I will be carrying ten firearms of various types and the ammo for them. I am an Arizona resident but RV full time so I do not have a location outside of CA to store my firearms. Three of my firearms are semi-auto rifles two of which I have installed CA compliant maglocks. The other, a highpoint 995, I could not figure out a way to easily install a maglock so I disassembled the rifle and store it in seperate locked containers. All firearms will be unloaded in locked hard plastic containers including one pellet rifle. All firearms will also be lock in my fifth wheel.

So my questions are these:

1. Can you find anything wrong with the above info for legally entering CA for a visit.

2. Since I will be carrying AZ tags I am assuming I may become a target of CA LE. If asked if I have any firearms do I declare them or just say "no, I would not carry any such evil device" :)

3. Do I have to consent to a search of my RV if asked? I know that even though it is my home, once hooked up to my truck, it becomes a vehicle in the state of CA.

Thanks all.

corcoraj2002
11-19-2012, 8:00 AM
Whilst attached to your truck you need to keep them locked up with no loaded magazines in the mag well or rounds in the chamber.

You are also restricted to 10 round mag capacity. Follow the flow chart in the centerfire rifle section and as long as your weapons pass that you are good to go.

mythfit
11-19-2012, 8:35 AM
All +10 magazine's have been disassembled and stored in "kit" form.

D Harry
11-19-2012, 8:37 AM
Only thing they will ask "do you have any produce. fruit, vegatables...." and if you do, they will want to look.
If asked about firearms, you say.. "no sir, I don't have anything like that."
RV is your home, you are allowed to have weapons in your home.
It's not THAT bad here...but 10 weapons in CA is an arsenal!