PDA

View Full Version : Legality of buying mags in other states?

toweshot
07-23-2007, 7:51 PM
I am a CA resident, however, I was wondering if it was legal to buy and posses high cap mags in other states if the mags were not brought into CA. Would a shop in Arizona legally be able to sell me high cap mags for an AR so i could shoot with a buddy who has a place there or should i just throw him some money and have him buy them? Thanks.

TS

boogak
07-23-2007, 7:55 PM
you normally cant with a cali id. but maybe

ghost
07-23-2007, 7:58 PM
to be on the safe side give him some money,have him buy the mags and leave the mags with him.

hoffmang
07-23-2007, 7:59 PM
There are no restrictions on your purchase of large capacity magazines as long as you do not import them into the State of California. Own all the magazines of any capacity you'd like outside of the State.

-Gene

DIG
07-23-2007, 8:06 PM
I am a CA resident, however, I was wondering if it was legal to buy and posses high cap mags in other states if the mags were not brought into CA. Would a shop in Arizona legally be able to sell me high cap mags for an AR so i could shoot with a buddy who has a place there or should i just throw him some money and have him buy them? Thanks.

TS

You can buy normal capacity mags in other states no problem. Just leave them at your friends place in Arizona and do not bring them into CA. That is ok and legal. There are (currently) no restrictions on normal capacity mags in that state so no worries. :gunsmilie:

leelaw
07-23-2007, 8:10 PM
There are no restrictions for you to buy full capacity magazines outside California, as long as they stay outside the state.

Buy at will!

blkA4alb
07-23-2007, 8:13 PM

You got carded to buy magazines? :rolleyes:

As the others have said, feel free to buy all the magazines that you would like out of state.

the_natterjack
07-23-2007, 8:16 PM

TS

The law only applies to what happens within California.