PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help with rail mounts.


Sleepy1988
07-21-2007, 3:03 PM
So I just completed my first AR-15. It's built on a stag arms lower with a rock river arms A4 upper. I just ordered this (http://www.coldwarshooters.net/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=13&products_id=21) sight a few days ago and it arrived this afternoon. So, somewhat excited, I open it up and take it out, but to my disappointment, I found that it wouldn't fit on my rail :(. After reading the wikipedia article on the M16 I understand that the flat top A4 style uppers have picatinny or MIL-STD-1913 rails on them. I went to the A.R.M.S. inc website and after some searching found this (http://www.armsmounts.com/catalog.php?action=124&item_id=3). If I get this will I be able to mount the new sight I bought?

rksimple
07-21-2007, 3:17 PM
It should fit. Where is it getting hung up?

ETA: And no, that ARMS mount won't help.

Sleepy1988
07-21-2007, 4:18 PM
The sight isn't wide enough to clamp on. I'll try and upload some pictures tommorow.

Diablo
07-21-2007, 4:28 PM
Pictures, pictures..:D

The sight should fit. Are you loosening the screw on the side enough for it to open all the way?

Jicko
07-21-2007, 4:39 PM
So I just completed my first AR-15. It's built on a stag arms lower with a rock river arms A4 upper. I just ordered this (http://www.coldwarshooters.net/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=13&products_id=21) sight a few days ago and it arrived this afternoon. So, somewhat excited, I open it up and take it out, but to my disappointment, I found that it wouldn't fit on my rail :(. After reading the wikipedia article on the M16 I understand that the flat top A4 style uppers have picatinny or MIL-STD-1913 rails on them. I went to the A.R.M.S. inc website and after some searching found this (http://www.armsmounts.com/catalog.php?action=124&item_id=3). If I get this will I be able to mount the new sight I bought?

Don't be disappointed. You are just missing something obvious, you will laugh about it later.

It WILL fit.

http://armsmount.bizatomic.net/images/img964319.jpg

Take the "clamp" out completely, then pull your charging handle open, and slide the ARMS sight in from the back. Look thru the side and align the "stainless steel crossbar" with the rail's slot, and put the "clamp" back in and tighten it.

Sleepy1988
07-23-2007, 1:43 PM
Thanks! I do feel pretty silly about it now.

Full Clip
07-23-2007, 5:25 PM
You're not the first — I had the same problem.