PDA

View Full Version : School Me: 10/22 or Dedicated AR Upper?

Full Clip
10-30-2012, 9:23 PM
I was looking at this DPMS model upper (http://www.midwayusa.com/product/717600/dpms-ar-15-a3-flat-top-conversion-upper-assembly-22-long-rifle-1-in-16-twist-16-bull-barrel-chrome-moly-matte-with-free-float-handguard-10-round-magazine) or a tactical 10/22. (http://www.ruger.com/products/1022Tactical/models.html)
Thoughts?

NorCalDustin
10-30-2012, 10:14 PM
Dedicated Upper all day long... I recommend the CMMG & TACCOM (http://www.taccom3g.com/) dedicated uppers... Solid uppers, reliable, uses lots of standard AR-15 parts, bla bla bla... Same sh*t i've been preaching for a couple years on here :)... My opinion has never changed.

Look, I love the 10/22... I've got a couple, i love them... I also have 3 CMMG setups and 1 TACCOM Ultra Light setup... I prefer them.

Just my $0.02

AR22
10-31-2012, 6:51 AM
Definitley go the Dedicated AR22 upper route. In my opinion it is silly to spend the money on trying to copy something else with parts added to a 10-22.

We have two CMMG uppers. Both with the stainless Bolts. Get that for sure. Well worth the few extra dollars to have it. One of our CMMGs has the original barrel. The other has a Taccom lightweight 17 inch barrel. I have 10-22s and they are nice little rifles but the CMMG dedicated upper is so so much more fun. Our 10-22 never goes with us anymore since we discovered the Dedicated uppers. You will be very happy if you get the CMMG. I have read the DPMS are good uppers also and I would choose that over the 10-22 route but I would choose CMMG over both of them however..

Heres a pic of our CMMG with the taccom barrel. Very accurrate and functions 100% perfect..
http://imageshack.us/a/img17/6783/cmmgforcalguns.jpg

the86d
10-31-2012, 7:35 AM
Both, shoot all day +more for a $25 Walmart 400-525+ pack!

Full Clip
10-31-2012, 9:13 AM
Both, shoot all day +more for a $25 Walmart 400-525+ pack!