PDA

View Full Version : Scopes 101 help

WokMaster1
07-10-2007, 6:03 PM
Hi guys,

Total noob here when optics are concerned. I have been searching for a scope for my AR. Purpose is just fun target shooting 75-200 yards. I have been looking at Nikon Monarchs, ProStaff, Leupolds, IORs & the usual suspects. And the more I looked, the more overwhelmed i get with all the numbers.

1. what do all these numbers mean?
2. 33mm vs 1 inch tube? difference?
3. 3-9 X 40mm vs 3 X 9 X 33- flew right over my head.
4. what's the difference between a 50mm vs 20mm?

Is there a place to do some reading to understand what all these terminology, etc. A "Scopes for Dummies" book, website.

Please help! Thanks.:o

New Shooter II
07-10-2007, 6:08 PM
Sorry, I can not help you. I am in the same boat.

I will be observing along with you.

FatKatMatt
07-10-2007, 6:15 PM
Hi guys,

Total noob here when optics are concerned. I have been searching for a scope for my AR. Purpose is just fun target shooting 75-200 yards. I have been looking at Nikon Monarchs, ProStaff, Leupolds, IORs & the usual suspects. And the more I looked, the more overwhelmed i get with all the numbers.

1. what do all these numbers mean?
2. 33mm vs 1 inch tube? difference?
3. 3-9 X 40mm vs 3 X 9 X 33- flew right over my head.
4. what's the difference between a 50mm vs 20mm?

Is there a place to do some reading to understand what all these terminology, etc. A "Scopes for Dummies" book, website.

Please help! Thanks.:o

1. Which numbers?
2. If a tube is 30mm or 1 inch just means that the tube is 33mm or 1 inch thick. I do not know the individual merits of each, but there are more rings made for the 1" tube than the 30mm