PDA

View Full Version : My wish this fourth of July

Rob P.
07-05-2007, 2:59 PM
I would like to find someone who can / will teach me about deer or quail hunting.

I have had a hunting license in the past but never used it because I couldn't find anyone to teach me about how, where to go, who to know/talk to about game processing, etc. I even have a nice .20 ga Mossberg which I have NEVER fired and have owned for over 15 years that I wanted to use for upland hunting. I am familiar with handguns and long guns and have been plinking since I was a teen. Firearm safety is primary to me and I mean it when I say it.

I have now nearly reached the ripe old age of 48 and I've decided that THIS YEAR I'm going to learn even if I have to do it the hard way and teach myself. :eek:

So, is there ANYONE out there who wants a hiking partner during a pre-season scouting trip and who is willing to explain things to a total noob (and I really mean it when I say "TOTAL"). Willing to scout from Bakersfield or in Ventura / southern Santa Barbara County as I have a place to stay in either place. I have boots, backpack, binoculars and decent understanding of hiking/backpacking/outdoors in the desert mountains. I am pretty familiar with the Las Padres NF as I used to hike/camp there when younger. I know nada about Kern County except that I'm probably going to be moving there within the year or so.

PM me or email me at harpy@avenuecable.com

(Aaaaak, just rereading this makes me thing of Craigslist and some of the stuff they post there under the "connections" section.)

Rob P.
07-08-2007, 12:29 PM
WOW, 68 views and no one has any advice or opinion?

I'm gong to post over on Jesse's forum and see what happens there.

Still would be nice to hook up with someone though.

joel1316
07-09-2007, 8:24 AM
WOW, 68 views and no one has any advice or opinion?

I'm gong to post over on Jesse's forum and see what happens there.

Still would be nice to hook up with someone though.