PDA

View Full Version : and the 308 AR build begins (first AR)

Hallz
09-18-2012, 12:50 AM
A month ago I decided I would finally make the plunge into the AR field.

So, today I stopped by a LGS and started picking up a few items so I can start the build. Since I am a newbie, feedback on what I should expect and lookout for is appreciated.

This will be for hunting and mid-range shooting. Probably nothing over 600yards with the 16.

Goal, light/med weight 308 usually fired under 300 yards. Keeping it under 9lbs would be great.

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y286/BenDover666/lr3082s.jpg

CMMG lower
DPMS LR-308 16" Oracle upper
DPMS lower parts kit (308)
DPMS buffer tube (spring & buffer)
Noveske quick detach end plate
Geissele SSA trigger
Magpul MOE hand guard
Magpul STR stock
Magpul MIAD grip
Magpul MBUSS sight (r)
Magpul MS3 sling

Please keep in mind this will be my first AR and I have so much to learn.
Did I miss anything?

scglock
09-18-2012, 1:00 AM
Personally I'd go with an 18 or 20" barrel but thats all personal preference. You should look into the geissele match triggers too. I think that would be a better option but the ssa will suffice. Also a bipod if you want. But looks like it will be a nice build.

MrPlink
09-18-2012, 1:55 AM
Under 9lbs huh?

Hallz
09-18-2012, 12:06 PM
Plink, do you think it's possible or going to be a big challenge?
Any sugguestions as to we're I can save weight?

P.Charm
09-18-2012, 12:08 PM
Personally I'd go with an 18 or 20" barrel but thats all personal preference. You should look into the geissele match triggers too. I think that would be a better option but the ssa will suffice. Also a bipod if you want. But looks like it will be a nice build.

I'd go with an 18" also. my future...way future .308 will be 18"

Hallz
09-18-2012, 1:31 PM
What advantage will the 18" give me at 75-400 yards?

MrPlink
09-18-2012, 1:49 PM