PDA

View Full Version : Savage 10/110 FCP HS


G38xOC
09-17-2012, 7:16 PM
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c230/Ssaba420/338hs.png

in 338 lapua mag

does anyone have this rifle ? would like to hear your inputs

likes and dislike ?

I only have 22LR in savage arm and i like it alot . but just want to hear some personal opinions . thanks

Jyruiz
09-17-2012, 7:59 PM
I just have the 10 FCPK, but love that 10/110, one day I am hoping to get a stock like that for mine.

Specific Pacific
09-17-2012, 8:14 PM
Nice barrel and trigger group. I hate Savage actions...

shooterbill
09-17-2012, 9:35 PM
A friend of mine has this rifle. Shoots nice. Very expensive to shoot. Recoil is better than tha Armalite AR-30 in the same caliber.

LovingTheYear1911
09-17-2012, 9:56 PM
Lets just say if I could afford to shoot it, I would buy this rifle. You cant go wrong with a Savage.

bcrich
09-18-2012, 12:26 PM
I have it and it would throw fliers all the time, had Ray at peerless precision rifles do a bedding job that was hard to do due to the design of the action (crappy) it had high spots on the stock that prevented a tight fit.... But now it shoots better thank you Ray! 338 is expensive but I only use it at DesertMarksmen matches. It's still the cheapest factory gun chambered in 338lm.

Whiterabbit
09-18-2012, 9:47 PM
I have the 111 long range (cheaper version of this) and it's a TACK driver with prvi ammo. Amazing.

Developed some loads using a bullet that should not work (200 grain solid copper, way way too light), and they are a tack driver at multiple powder charges.

Pulled the muzzle brake cause I want it as a hunting gun and the noise is too much (I dont like brakes), now it has solid hunting accuracy. 1moa if I keep the barrel cold. I don't mind the loss of accuracy at all. It's a hunter for me, not a long range steel shooter. If I wanted to do that I could just buy a box of 300 grain bergers and put the brake back on. easy.

The cheapest way to get ammo if you don't reload is to buy Prvi rounds for brass then send them to LoadX for loading. If you do load, it's no more expensive than any other rifle once you have the brass, though I find 338 bullets are a boutique round right now and seem to sell QUICK.

bcrich
09-19-2012, 4:20 PM
Whiterabbit you aren't having extraction issues with the privi brass?

Whiterabbit
09-19-2012, 4:59 PM
zero, why?

LRShooter
09-19-2012, 7:39 PM
I've contemplated getting one in 300WM. If it came with the brake I'd have bought it last week. (Only 338LM comes with the brake.)

I've already got two heavy barrel Savages. I don't really need another. I wish they sold it in 260Rem or one of the other 6.5 long range calibers.

ar15barrels
09-19-2012, 9:58 PM
I've contemplated getting one in 300WM. If it came with the brake I'd have bought it last week. (Only 338LM comes with the brake.)

I can spin a brake on the 300 barrel for if you mark the top of the barrel and send it to me with the brake...

Hawk45
09-20-2012, 1:35 PM
I've had my eye on one of these also. Every time I tell myself the next rifle will be a R700, I get another Savage. Agreed there stock fit is not always the best.. but it's made me a good home gunsmith over time.

bcrich
09-20-2012, 7:47 PM
zero, why?

I read that pretty much all brass but lapua would have extraction issues so far I have tried Ruag brass (Swiss) and had extraction problems! Good for you if the privi is working out!

Whiterabbit
09-20-2012, 9:09 PM
All prvi brass has been great to me. As well as prvi factory ammo.

You can take that with a grain of salt with respect to 338. I only shot 60-80 rounds before I took the brake off my rifle.

I've shot winchester and prvi in 7x57 and have since sold all my win brass. I wont sell my ~50 pcs of non prvi 338 brass cause its just too expensive not to horde.

Hawk45
09-21-2012, 7:37 AM
What type of magazine does this use? Is it an AI mag?

Whiterabbit
09-21-2012, 8:09 AM
in 338, AI. in 300WM, I don't know.

I'm more curious if the 300WM mag fits the 338 LM gun. I bought this to wildcat it, not to shoot 338! The 300WM would be a much more useful mag for me.


----------

Let me rephrase. I'm pretty sure my magazine is savage branded, not AI. Though I don't know who actually manufactures it (maybe AI is acting as ODM here?) But I'm told AI mags fit.


--------

So here's a secondary followup, since again I bought this as a hunter. The mag sticks out too far. Does AI make a 2 or 3 round mag? Even a 1 round mag (1+1 minimum) would be great. I just don't want the single shot sled.

Hawk45
09-21-2012, 10:06 AM
I've never seen an AI flush fit mag. Even the 5rd .308 mags stick out a bit of the actual AICS chassis.

Whiterabbit
09-21-2012, 1:18 PM
stick out a little is OK. They don't stick out "a little" though.

ar15barrels
09-21-2012, 1:46 PM
Does AI make a 2 or 3 round mag?

No.

Whiterabbit
09-21-2012, 2:41 PM
Too bad. I couldn't find any on the internet either. I'm guessing its not possible to convert the accustock to a hinged floorplate either. Not in 338 LM. Or an internal mag. Though that would be strange for a gun that already has a DBM.

ar15barrels
09-21-2012, 3:34 PM
I'm guessing its not possible to convert the accustock to a hinged floorplate either. Not in 338 LM. Or an internal mag. Though that would be strange for a gun that already has a DBM.

A really good welder could take an AICS mag and chop/channel it for you.
Just make sure you keep it long enough to latch into the gun.
There is a flange on the bottom of the mag where the baseplate slides over the tabs to retain the baseplate on to the body.

bill_k_lopez
09-21-2012, 9:05 PM
Ask this fellow he's selling one here on Calguns..

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=621237&highlight=Savage