PDA

View Full Version : Which handguns hold their value over time?

joe321
09-14-2012, 11:53 AM
I already have a glock and I've been really wanting to get a Kimber 1911. I know glocks sell pretty good over time, but what do you guys think about the Kimber? I think Guns are kinda cool because even though they're expensive, you can sell them if you need to. I've only been a gun owner for about a year, so i'm still unfamiliar with the market. Which guns hold their value?

luckyduck
09-14-2012, 12:01 PM
I'm very new to all of this. But in my brief research, I've noticed that handguns that hold there value are (a gun need not possess all of these qualities, but should possess more than one):

a. Made by a respectable manufacturer
b. carry the distinction of limited quantity, rarity.
c. have a timeless design that has not been consistently updated
d. Have an interesting history (usage by various actors)
e. Have a reputation for durability and reliability
f. Have a sizeable market for replacement parts, accesorries, etc.

vector16
09-14-2012, 12:10 PM
I already have a glock and I've been really wanting to get a Kimber 1911. I know glocks sell pretty good over time, but what do you guys think about the Kimber? I think Guns are kinda cool because even though they're expensive, you can sell them if you need to. I've only been a gun owner for about a year, so i'm still unfamiliar with the market. Which guns hold their value?