PDA

View Full Version : New To Trap Shooting

bhaubold
09-01-2012, 7:36 PM
I'm new to trap shooting. I've only shot about 8 rounds. I enjoy it very much. Problem is, I'm only hitting about 10-12 clays and am not improving much. I can't tell where I'm missing.

Wonder if someone can give me any tips to help me improve? Is there a way to tell where your missing? it seems it would help if I knew I was missing low, high, left or right. I don't expect to become an expert overnight. But, I would like to get in the 15-20 range. It's much more fun when you hit the clays.

Thanks for your help,

Bob

mtenenhaus
09-01-2012, 8:18 PM
some fundamentals that really helped me:
you want to bring the gun up to you...not bringing the head down and over to the gun

you want to focus sharply only the front edge of the bird and not look at the sights on the shotgun (very different than rifle shooting)

keep looking at the bird after you pull the trigger to make sure you're not stopping the gun after shooting but rather ensuring that you are following through with the shot

cannon
09-01-2012, 8:31 PM
Have a buddy stand behind you when you shoot. They'll be able to tell you where you shot.

I've never been to a trap range that didn't have some old guys sitting around. These guys usually shoot very well and know their beans.

When I was a new shooter I'd ask them for help and got nothing but very good advice and assistance.

the donald
09-01-2012, 8:48 PM
also, what are you shooting? i have a 28in full choke 12g and get between 18-22 consistently. with my 18in modified i get 10-15.

Thefeeder
09-01-2012, 8:50 PM
Have a buddy stand behind you when you shoot. They'll be able to tell you where you shot.

I've never been to a trap range that didn't have some old guys sitting around. These guys usually shoot very well and know their beans.

When I was a new shooter I'd ask them for help and got nothing but very good advice and assistance.