PDA

View Full Version : Small enough for CCW?

mikestesting
08-31-2012, 10:12 AM
I am new to concealed carry. I've been seeing that Sacramento just opened up new appointments for CCW applications and I am really interested. I'm thinking of signing up for the required training course and get qualified.

My concern is that my handguns may be too large for concealed carry and I just wanted others' opinions on this. The following is what I own that I would consider for concealed carry

Ruger Security Six
Sig 1911
Beretta 92fs

Do you consider these too large? I don't want the thing bulging under my clothes or peeking out and scaring others.

Invisible_Dave
08-31-2012, 10:26 AM
So much depends on you, your body type, type of holster etc. A 1911 can be very concealable with a good holster, right shirt, and the correct body type. I'm not very tall, so a 5 inch gun is hard to hide for be OWB. I have a J-frame revolver and a Glock 27 that hides pretty well. Under a suit jacket however, that's a different story.

someR1
08-31-2012, 10:47 AM
I am new to concealed carry. I've been seeing that Sacramento just opened up new appointments for CCW applications and I am really interested. I'm thinking of signing up for the required training course and get qualified.

My concern is that my handguns may be too large for concealed carry and I just wanted others' opinions on this. The following is what I own that I would consider for concealed carry

Ruger Security Six
Sig 1911
Beretta 92fs

Do you consider these too large? I don't want the thing bulging under my clothes or peeking out and scaring others.

Those are pretty large guns to conceal. It can make your day really uncomfortable lol. IMO you should get the smallest/lightest gun you are comfortable firing. I have a Glock 27 and it's perfect to conceal. You might also consider a Ruger LCP, or S&W M&P compact.

BomarFab
08-31-2012, 10:59 AM