PDA

View Full Version : Bay area folks, please help me.

fizzbuzz
08-22-2012, 7:58 PM
I'm a student at Stanford University and I want to own a gun. I'm pretty sure it's going to be a Henry .22lr lever action, but that's not the issue. I know that bringing a gun to my dorm would be a felony and I'd rather not do that even if it weren't. I was wondering where I could store my firearm off campus. There are several ranges near my location, for example Reed's, Jackson Arms, Target Masters, Los Altos and Sunnyvale Rod and Gun, etc. Do any of these places have, say, lockers that I can rent out to store a gun? Would they allow me to clean the gun on the premises? Can I store ammo with said gun? I'd like to start shooting now as I saved up a fair share of money from my job but if it's too much of a hassle I guess I can start 3 years later.

Thank you.

spetsnaz
08-22-2012, 8:01 PM
Friends or family off site.

krby
08-22-2012, 8:24 PM
This won't work for your rifle, but for a handgun you could get a safe deposit box at a bank.

DRM6000
08-22-2012, 8:27 PM
Is it really a felony? I thought it was for K-12. You'd be expelled though.

Fadedline
08-22-2012, 8:32 PM
Reed's does. From their website:

"Store your firearms and equipment with us rent a storage locker
$20.00/month or $180.00/year...
Call the range for more details."

den888
08-22-2012, 8:35 PM
Yep, Reed's in Santa Clara has storage. None of the other local shops do, to the best of my knowledge.

fizzbuzz
08-22-2012, 9:54 PM
Hmm... I suppose Reed's will do nicely. I have no family or friends that aren't living in dorms or half a country away... so yeah. As for a felony, I think it is, and I'm not about to test it.

durandal
08-22-2012, 9:56 PM
Gun at college is legal if its in a locked case.

KWalkerM
08-22-2012, 9:58 PM
find someone you trust off campus. thats what i am doing, met the gun club prez and other staff and now i have a place to secure them.

kf6tac
08-22-2012, 9:58 PM