PDA

View Full Version : Am I using my techsights (aperture/peep) wrong?

Lead Waster
08-20-2012, 2:24 PM
Hi guys, I finally got to shoot my Marlin 795 with techsights yesterday!

Woo! But I noticed the following (at 25 yards)

1) I had to push the rear sight all the way to the left to get on target. So much so that if you drew a line from sight to sight, it is probably not along the bore!

2) The tech sight rear kept moving back on me, I'm going to have to "glue" it down to the rail. Even after tightening the nut all the way (without stripping the thread!) that squeezes the rail. I think some blue loctite under the sight will help with this.

I shoot left handed and I'm NOT an expert rifle shooter at all (I signed up for Appleseed in October, so that should help)

It could be that I'm not shooting properly or sighting incorrectly. I kept shooting to the right of the target and I even switched hands/eyes to shoot right sided for 10 rounds and it still happened.

When I look through the peep sight, I just eyeball (ha ha!) the front sight onto the target and squeeze the trigger. I don't think I'm shifting the sight left or right within the "peep". Is this correct? I thought concentrating on the front sight thorugh a peep basically automatically centered the sight.

How SHOULD I use a peep sight?

Is it normal that I'd have to crank the sight all the way over to one side to get on target, or is it my bad shooting? I did NOT have anyone else try the rifle, though I should have.

I was mostly just trying to dial in the sight and just start breaking in the rifle with some rounds to make sure that it was reliable for the Oct Appleseed.

Thanks for any tips!

DartFrog
08-20-2012, 7:10 PM