PDA

View Full Version : Difference between race pistol and regular pistol

canyon289
08-19-2012, 4:09 PM
What's benefits of paying thousands of dollars for a race pistol, vs a "regular" pistol?

FYI
I'm relatively new to guns and I'm trying to get a grasp of the sport and industry as whole. Thanks in advance!

RugerNo1
08-19-2012, 4:16 PM
Are you speaking of the handguns used in competitions like USPSA/IPSC or Steel Challenge?

Those guns are designed with tighter tolerances while maintaining the reliability that the shooters need to get through a match. The craftmanship and features of their designs often bump the price up. However, even so-called "regular" guns can be used in these competitions as well and be competitive. If someone is interested in shooting the competition stuff, they can easily shoot what they have until they know what they really need/want.

canyon289
08-19-2012, 4:19 PM
I think so, I'm referring to guns like the Razorcat.

HighLander51
08-19-2012, 4:19 PM
about $4,000....without $100 magazines, $60 mag pouches, and a $300 race holster. A full on STI Open Gun versus an entry level 1911. But, a race gun will not make you a better shooter, it will only do the same thing easier. And keep in mind, most open guns run on very hot hand loaded ammo to make them cycle. You need to learn the fundamentals first, stance, grip, sight picture and trigger with any gun that has good sights and a manageable trigger.

HighLander51
08-19-2012, 4:24 PM

JJ Racaza is one of the best IPSC shooters on the planet. He started at age 9 and everyone knew he was a natural. They are only a handful of shooters like him.

agent.5
08-19-2012, 4:34 PM
generally these 2011 are very well built double stack 1911, with a 2lbs trigger. You can get a regular (but well built) 1911 from Wilson or other builders for about the same price. Generally, you have a 3.5lbs or higher trigger pull for regular guns.

dangerranger
08-19-2012, 4:34 PM