PDA

View Full Version : S&W 442 with 38 +P ammo

kygen
08-17-2012, 11:40 PM
I just got my baby 442 out of jail today, estimated manufacture date is mid 90s. I bought a box of Winchester Supreme Elite PDX1. 130 grain JHP Bonded. Me being the person I am did not check if my 442 could handle +P before I bought the ammo. Now the question is, can my 442, which does not state on the gun +P, can handle +P loads? I have looked a bit online, and some say that a low diet of +P in a early 90's S&W 442 is ok, others say that since it is not marked for +P, one should not use it. I come to the infinite wisodom that is Calguns to ask is it ok?, or will I blow my hand off by running 20 rds of +P?

motogenius
08-18-2012, 12:10 AM
I have no experience with that particular firearm but I've always heard its ok to shoot +p. it's just a hot load.

It's the "+p+" ammo you should stay away from. If it were me I'd call s&w before attempting it. Or at the least wait for someone else to chime in. It may be fine 99.9% of the time but that small chance of failure doesn't sit right with me unless the manufacturer says its ok.

kygen
08-18-2012, 12:22 AM
thanks for your input :D i think i may call them tomorrow to make sure, and to get an exact date on the production year

Code7inOaktown
08-18-2012, 12:22 AM
If it is a model that has a -1 in the model I it will -- but don't trust me. Swing out the cylinder and look for the 442-1 and then write S&W customer service and ask if it will handle +P. My 442-1 will (according to S&W customer service) but does not say +P. Late models did say +P. I would ask S&W first.

kygen
08-18-2012, 12:27 AM
I just checked, did not see a -1 on her

Code7inOaktown
08-18-2012, 12:49 AM
I just checked, did not see a -1 on her

Yeah, likely not a +P gun then. Email Smith with the serial range and maybe they can verify or not but the lack of the -1 likely indicates not +P.

kygen
08-18-2012, 12:51 AM
ok, ill send them an email right now. thanks for the help ;D