PDA

View Full Version : Whenever you hear the words "Assault Weapons"...

artoaster
08-16-2012, 7:26 AM
...do all of us a big favor and remind those involved in speaking or listening that assault weapons refer only to fully automatic firearms and not semi-automatics.

The usage of this term is out of control.

If I started calling all my paper currency "evil money" today I'd get an odd reaction just as if I called a bolt action Marlin 22LR with a five round magazine an assault rifle in 1975. But, unfortunately that's where it's headed.

glockman19
08-16-2012, 7:29 AM
Whenever you hear the words "Assault Weapons"...

I cringe...:facepalm:

jrock
08-16-2012, 7:45 AM
curious, what does AR stand for?
american rirfle? im new to ar's.
but dont worry, according to orielly,
these are heavy weapons.

Sanman023
08-16-2012, 7:48 AM
these are heavy weapons.

ar = armalite

pdq_wizzard
08-16-2012, 7:48 AM
these are heavy weapons.

ArmaLite

Sanman023
08-16-2012, 7:54 AM
two dudes around sacramento with a rifle next to a pool post at the same time with the same answer...funny

SilverTauron
08-16-2012, 8:30 AM
Your goal is noble. However , such an outcome is so unrealistic we may as well declare war on ignorance. We may be enlightened enough to correct those around us, but the politicians and press will continue to call our weapons "assault rifles" regardless of the facts behind the misuse of the phrase. And those people have more airtime than we'll ever get.

My take on it, I do not care if acquaintances call my rifle a blimp as long as they understand my rights to own and use it.

Elwood_Blues
08-16-2012, 9:13 AM
If anyone in a conversation with me misuses term 'assault weapon', I'll just simply start referring to just about everything as 'assault' i.e. assault knife, assault 2x4, and so on.

pdq_wizzard
08-16-2012, 9:26 AM
two dudes around sacramento with a rifle next to a pool post at the same time with the same answer...funny

no kidding :D

CBruce
08-16-2012, 10:08 AM